Skip to content

Onions focaccia: football food and happy memories

Onions focacciaSome foods are simply part of your life. You cooked them hundreds of time, your mum cooked them thousands of time and in the end is like they’ve always been there, linked to your past, your present and your future. This is certainly true for this onions focaccia recipe: I perfectly remember the first time I eat it, the people who were with me. It was a hot ans sunny summer and it was the summer of an incredible big event in Italy. 1990: I was in the transition between a child and a teen and the Football World Cup was held in Italy. Everyone was so exited!! I remember that days spent at the sea talking about football and even more the evenings, all together in front of tv with my beloved cousins. Of course I didn’t understand anything about football at that time, but I liked so much Nicola Berti, the most beautiful Italian player 🙂

Protagonists of that world cup are still around and I saw them on TV during the Brazilian event: Klinsmann, Matheus, Maradona… these incredible champions are so linked to our memories, mainly nice memories, that really it’s easy to think at them with a soft smile: like the onion focaccia seems like they’ve always been there, part of the postcards of our lives.

Coming back to the recipe: as you’ve probably already realized, this one is really linked to beautiful moments of my life, and I hope you will enjoy it and that will bring you the same happiness! Buon appetito!

onions focaccia

Ingredients:

– 750 g pizza dough

– 3 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil

– 5 onions (peeled and sliced very thin)

–  1/2 cup of cherry tomatoes (cut in 2 halves)

– 1/4 cup of black olives

– 2 teaspoons of oregano

– salt

 

Pour olive oil in a pan and add the onions. Cook at low flame for 15 minutes, till they start to become soft and transparent. Add the  cherry tomatoes ant the black olives grossly chopped. Toss well, adjust with salt and add oregano. Cook for other 15 minutes then let cool down.

Meanwhile cut the pizza dough in 2 halves and roll out both part. put the first one in a pan with baking paper, pour inside the onions mixture, cover with the second part of the pizza dough. Close like a pie, make some holes with a fork and brush the surface with olive oil. Bake in preheated oven at 210 C (410 F) for 20 minutes. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Omg! What a lovely bake you have there! ^__^

    17 July 2014
  2. What a great post! I just followed you to stay updated on your future posts and I look forward to them. I recently started my own vegan/political blog, so feel free to check it out and let me know what you think!

    Have a great day! 😀

    17 July 2014

Leave a comment