Skip to content

Lobsters, linguine & champagne: happy birthday … to me!

linguine with lobstersRule n. 1: special days need special food! I suppose you will trust me if I say that my birthday IS a very special day… so this post is about getting older, be happy and eating the great food my  husband cooked for me! Lobsters have always been considered a sophisticated and very good food, that’s maybe the reason why they are so expensive (almost in Switzerland!). We really love them and I remember perfectly that during our honeymoon in New England we had one almost every day, starting from the great one that we had at the Boston Legal Seafood the first night! Of course in the US it’s not so common cook lobsters with pasta, but we are Italian and we are used to cook all kind of seafood and fish with pasta and lobsters are no exception.As far as I can remember, every lobster I had in my life, is linked to special and happy moments so I really hope that, together with this recipe, some of my happiness  pass to you! Enjoy!

Ingredients: (serves 2):

– 160 g. of linguine

– 1 clove of garlic

– 4 tablespoons of extra-virgin olive oil

– 3 lobster tails

– chopped parsley

– half a glass of cognac

– 500 g. of cherry tomatoes

lobster tails– salt

Wash the lobster, break one and coarsely chop the pulp. Cut the other 2 in two halves. In a pan fry lightly the garlic with the extra-virgin olive oil, add the lobster pulp and the other tails. After 30 seconds sprinkle with parsley and add the cognac. After 1 minute add the cherry tomatoes cut in 2 halves. Reduce heat and cook covered for about 10 minutes. Cook the linguine in salted boiling water. Drain the pasta and pour it in the pan with the sauce, mix well and… buon appetito!

 

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Gorgeous food. I LOVE lobsters and luckily we live in the East coast where you find them aplenty. Happy birthday and wish you the very very best!

    18 October 2012
  2. What a great combination … great photo!

    18 October 2012
  3. I crostacei sono così buoni che solo l’opportunità di mangiarli genera felicità, ma anche io, a pensarci, associo aragoste e affini a importanti e gioiosi momenti. Buon compleanno!

    21 October 2012
  4. Do enter this recipe in my Gala Dinner linky party.

    http://www.thelady8home.com/2012/10/19/menu-finds-with-weekend-gala-extravaganza-dinner-party-6/

    How to do it:

    Put up this link somewhere in the post (most people do it at the bottom). You can also add the link to a button in my post. Just copy paste the button and link it up to my page)

    Submit your updated post in my linky tool. It will prompt you through the rest of the steps.

    Done.

    22 October 2012
  5. Looks like a great birthday dinner!! 🙂 I love seafood pasta…especially scallops in pasta. The other day though I made a shrimp pasta that was very simple but SO tasty 🙂

    7 November 2012
  6. Perfect birthday dinner! My boyfriends birthday is coming up and I wanted to make him a nice seafood dinner since he never gets the chance to eat it since I don’t eat seafood so I just ordered a few lobsters online. I have been looking for the perfect recipe and I think I just found it. I can’t wait to try this, thanks so much for sharing.

    20 February 2014

Leave a Reply

