Skip to content

How to make a perfect pizza dough

“I’ve just been to a dietician and he told me to do a low carb diet… that means “goodbye pizza!!”. But you know: I’m Neapolitan, I won’t survive. So here is my will: I want to be incinereted… in a pizza oven! And don’t bother to scatter my ashes: just let me there so that I could smell pizza’s smell for the eternity!” This is of course a joke made by an Italian comedian but I think it shows very well our national unconditional love for pizza. And this is of course the reason why, deciding to open the “How to & Tutorial” section, I decided to start with pizza dough.

As every very important recipe in the Italian cuisine, if you search you can find almost 1000 different ways to do it. But this is my recipe and talk about saturday evening dinner with friends and happy moments.

Ok, if I have to tell the truth, this is not 100% mine… my brother gave it to me a lot of time ago, but I suppose that if you have, like I do, a pastry brother that works in one of the most beautiful and famous hotels in Europe, you should make him work for you too… just to keep him trained 😉

So let’s get started..enjoy!

Ingredients:

500 g of flour

1 spoon of olive oil

130 g of warm milk

130 g of warm water

20 g of yeast

15 g of salt

Put the flour in a large bowl. In a mug mix water and milk together and add yeast and toss lightly till it will be completely dissolved, than pour it on the flour a little bit at the time, working lightly. Add olive oil and last add salt. Remember: salt is always the last thing to add and you should never mix it directly with yeast (salt kills yeast!).

Take the dough out of the bowl and put it on a wooden surface, work with energy for at least 10 minutes. Shape it like a ball, put it again in a bowl, take a knife and make a cross on the surface. Cover it with a humid cloth and let it rest. You know that it’s ready when the cross will disappear.

Now you can roll out the dough and put it in a pan (I usually cover the pan with baking paper) and let it rest again for half an hour (2 leavening processes make the dough softer). Meanwhile prepare the sauce: put tomato sauce in a bowl, add salt, olive oil, origan and toss. Spread a little amount of olive oil over the rolled dough and cover with the sauce. Put the pan in preheated oven at 220°C (428°F) and cook for 10 minutes. Remove the pan from the oven and add all the ingredients that you love on your pizza! Put again in the oven for other 10 minutes.

Now that your pizza masterpiece is ready… buon appetito!

PS you can use pizza dough to do many other things, not only pizza…but that’s another story so… stay tuned!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. I am a HUGE lover of carbs. Without carbs I will die. I’d rather be fat and happy! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I’ve been looking for an Italian pizza recipe for a while now. Buzzed.

    17 June 2012
    • Let me know when you cook it, I’m a curious to know if you’ll like it!

      17 June 2012

Leave a Reply

